You Are Not Currently Logged In To Document Access.   Log In Here
Auto Title - Frequenty Asked Questions
1. What is the difference between a Deputy Registrar and the Clerk of Courts?
2. How do I get a duplicate certificate of title?
3. How do I transfer ownership of my vehicle to another person?
4. I made a mistake assigning my title to the buyer. What should I do?
5. I have an assigned title for the vehicle I am driving, but it was assigned a year ago. What do I do?
6. The person I sold my vehicle to is calling, stating that they have lost the assigned, notarized title I gave them. What do I do?
7. How do I transfer an assigned title into my name?
8. I'm under 17 years old and I want to purchase a vehicle in Ohio. How is that handled?
9. My lien was satisfied and I have not received a clear title. What do I need to do to get my title?
10. I purchased a vehicle In-State / Out-of-State and the seller did not provide me with a title. What do I do?
11. I just moved to Ohio, How do I get an Ohio Title for my vehicle?
12. How do I record a lien on a motor vehicle?
13. I just got married. Do I need to have my name changed on my title?
14. My spouse has died and the vehicle is still in her/his name. What do I do?
15. My title does not reflect the correct vehicle identification number, how do I correct it?
16. How do I record a lien on a motor vehicle?
17. My insurance company has salvaged my vehicle but I am keeping it and repairing it for my use. What steps do I need to follow?
18. There is an abandoned vehicle on my property, How do I handle this situation?
19. There is an abandoned vehicle on the street where I live. How do I handle this?
20. How do I get a copy of my Ohio title record?
21. How do I obtain and apply for a "Transfer on Death" Title?
22. I would like to title my vehicle in the name of my "TRUST" or transfer my existing "TRUST" title to someone else. How do I do that?
23. I have an off road motorcycle titled in Ohio. I have now brought it up to code for road use and need to change the title. How do I do that?

1. What is the difference between a Deputy Registrar and the Clerk of Courts?
Under Ohio law, the Deputy Registrar (BMV) has the responsibility to issue license plates, driver?s licenses, and other such matters. The Clerk of Courts has the legal responsibility to store, transfer, and process auto titles. The offices are separately managed and operated. However, in most instances, the Clerk of Courts and the Deputy Registrar (BMV) have tried to keep their offices close to one another to better serve consumers.
 
2. How do I get a duplicate certificate of title?
Application can be made in person at any county title office. There is a $16.00 fee. Please take your picture ID, registration or insurance card, or any other document that verifies the vehicle identification number and ownership.

If you have moved, an application can be printed from our web site (listed under Auto Title forms) or we can mail or fax one to you. Complete the application with your title number & vehicle identification number and have your signature notarized. Mail your application, photocopy of your ID, $15.00 and a self addressed stamped return envelope to the Auto Title Division.
 
3. How do I transfer ownership of my vehicle to another person?
On the back of your current title, at the top, complete the new buyer?s name and address, plus the purchase price. Complete the odometer certification area stating the mileage as it appears on the odometer. Right under the mileage area is the sellers signature line and notary section. This area must be signed and notarized. Next, the buyer must acknowledge the odometer certification as stated by the seller by filling in his signature and then printing his name. The seller should make a copy of the front and back of the assigned title and remove the plates from the vehicle. If the purchaser needs a 30 day tag, it must be purchased at this time.
 
4. I made a mistake assigning my title to the buyer. What should I do ?
You should go to any Clerk of Courts title office with the Ohio title, your driver?s license and $6.00 to request a replacement title. The replacement title can then be assigned correctly and the Deputy Clerk can notarize the seller?s signature for an additional $1.00. The seller should keep a copy of the assigned title before giving it to the buyer.
 
5. I have an assigned title for the vehicle I am driving, but it was assigned a year ago. What do I do?
Proceed to any county title office and apply for title. You will be charged a $5 late fee, in addition to other applicable fees.
 
6. The person I sold my vehicle to is calling, stating that they have lost the assigned, notarized title I gave them. What do I do ?
You should go to the county title office, state that the original title was lost or stolen, and apply for a duplicate title. Do the assignment and notarization over and deliver to purchaser. Always keep a copy of the assigned title for your records.
 
7. How do I transfer an assigned title into my name ?
After receiving an assigned notarized title, the new buyer should proceed to any Clerk of Courts Auto Title office within thirty (30) days ( In order to avoid a penalty fee of $5.00 for a late charge.) to apply for an Ohio title in their name. If you need to operate the vehicle before you obtain your title, take your assigned title to the Deputy Registrar?s office to purchase a thirty (30) day tag. When you obtain your Ohio title, in the Clerk of Courts title office, you will be required to pay sales & use tax on the purchase price of the vehicle (The rate varies from county to county, so phone ahead for your county?s rate.) If there is a lien holder you might need to bring the security agreement with you for the lien to be noted. If you purchased the vehicle from out of state, we will need an out of state inspection, which can be obtained at any Deputy Registrar or almost all new or used car dealer.
 
8. I?m under 17 years old and I want to purchase a vehicle in Ohio. How is that handled ?
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian must complete a minor consent form. A parent or legal guardian must accompany you when you appear in front of the Clerk of Courts Deputy Clerk or Notary, to have a vehicle titled in your name. Minor consent forms are available at the Clerk of Courts title offices. An Ohio drivers license or Sate ID are required for the minor and Parent / Legal Guardian to get their signatures notarized. Also, proof of parental status or Legal Guardianship is required.
 
9. My lien was satisfied and I have not received a clear title. What do I need to do to get my title ?
You will need to contact your lienholder for a lien release statement. Take this, your driver?s license and $16.00 to your county title office for a title. If you do not receive a lien release statement, you will need to contact the Ohio BMV, Deputy Registrar And Title Support Services (D.R.A.T.S.S.), Title Administration and Customer Service Unit (TACS) at 614-752-7671 for further direction
 
10. I purchased a vehicle In-State / Out-of-State and the seller did not provide me with a title. What do I do ?
Contact the Title Administration and customer service Unit at (TACS) 614-752-7671.
 
11. I just moved to Ohio, How do I get an Ohio Title for my vehicle ?
Take your out of state title, your Ohio driver?s license, the current mileage, and a completed Out of State Inspection ( inspections can be obtained at any Deputy Registrar or almost all new or used car dealers in Ohio ) to any Clerk of Courts Title office in the State of Ohio. You are applying for a conversion title from your state to Ohio. If you do not have your title and it is being held by the lien holder or leasing company, please contact them to see how they want to handle your conversion. Note: If you are converting your non-Ohio title to an Ohio title within six months of purchasing the vehicle in your previous residential state, it is possible you may be required to pay Ohio sales tax. Bring a copy of your bill of sale, to receive credit for taxes paid, any balance due is payable at the time your Ohio title is issued.
 
12. How do I record a lien on a motor vehicle?
The Clerk of Courts title office in any county will be able to record a lien. The owner?s title and the security agreement or the owner?s title and a properly executed application with the VIN and lien holder stated and $15.00 will enable the county title office to record a lien. The title owner may request a memorandum title for registration and plating. The application for title is available from this web site (listed under Auto Title forms).
 
13. I just got married. Do I need to have my name changed on my title?
No. Upon the sale of the vehicle that is in your maiden name, assign the title with your married name and also your maiden name and have proof of your name change. (Example, Jane Doe formerly Jane Smith)
 
14. My spouse has died and the vehicle is still in her/his name. What do I do?
Proceed to the title office in any county and apply for a surviving spouse certificate of title. You will need the current title, a copy of the death certificate and a completed, signed & notarized surviving spouse affidavit. ( Some counties require a certified copy of the death certificate, so phone ahead for requirements.) You may apply for up to 2 vehicles and one boat and one boat motor on a surviving spouse benefit. However, the estimated value of both vehicles cannot exceed $40,000. Surviving spouse can only transfer passenger vehicles, motorcycle or a 3/4 ton truck or smaller, into their name.. Commercial vehicles, motor homes, recreational vehicles, and all terrain vehicles are not covered under the surviving spouse law. (Contact Probate Court)
 
15. My title does not reflect the correct vehicle identification number, How do I correct it?
Contact the issuing county title office in the state the title was issued. The county office will check their records to verify the possible error. If an error has been made, the clerk will tell you to follow through with their office, BMV or the State Highway Patrol.
 
16. My vehicle has had the vehicle identification plate removed / lost. How do I get a new one ?
Contact the Title Administration and Customer Service Unit (TACS) at 614-752-7671 and ask for a VIN Replacement packet to be sent to your address. The enclosed letter will explain how to submit the proper documents to our office for a VIN replacement, which can result in either the Patrol making a Department of Public Safety VIN replacement plate or applying directly through the manufacturer. The time frame is 6-8 weeks for a manufacturer's plate. After completion, you may have the title replaced at any county title office.
 
17. My insurance company has salvaged my vehicle but I am keeping it and repairing it for my use. What steps do I need to follow?
Bring your Ohio title to any Clerk of Courts Title office, so that, you can apply for a salvage title in your name. Current mileage and your Ohio Driver?s license are needed to issue the salvage title. Note: The vehicle can not be operated on any road while branded a Salvage title. Go directly to the Deputy Registrar to purchase a salvage receipt. (current fee $53.50). Upon completion of repair, contact the State Highway Patrol to make an appointment to have a salvage inspection done. The State Highway Patrol will require the number on the salvage receipt you purchased from the Deputy Registrar to make your appointment. After the vehicle has successfully completed the inspection, take the form HP106, your Salvage title, your Ohio driver?s license and your current mileage to any Clerk of Courts Title office to get your Salvage title replaced with a Re-built Salvage title. Then go directly to the Deputy registrar to check the status of your registration and plates. The vehicle will then be operable for all roads.
 
18. There is an abandoned vehicle on my property, How do I handle this situation?
First contact your local law enforcement, as each area has different rules on this. Some law enforcement agencies will come to your property and remove the vehicle, others may say it is your property and you will have to find the owner and contact them. If law enforcement will not remove the vehicle, you will need to contact the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), and possibly need to obtain a court order to have the vehicle titled into your name.
 
19. There is an abandoned vehicle on the street where I live. How do I handle this?
Contact your local law enforcement office to remove the vehicle.
 
20. How do I get a copy of my Ohio title record?
Only the owner or previous owner of a vehicle can obtain a copy of the record of their title. The owner or previous owner should go to the issuing county Clerk of Courts Title office with their driver?s license and vehicle identification number. If someone other than the owner or previous owner of a vehicle would like a copy of an Ohio title record or history of a vehicle title record, a subpoena is required. The cost is $5.00 for each copy or certified copy.
 
21. How do I obtain and apply for a ?Transfer on Death? Title ?
Only a sole owner of a vehicle can apply for a transfer on death beneficiary title under current Ohio law. No companies or 2 owner titles qualify for this type of title.

To apply, you would take your Ohio title to any county title office and apply for a transfer on death ?TOD? replacement title. You will be asked to complete an affidavit naming the beneficiary or beneficiaries stating their full legal name, address, social security number and date of birth. That affidavit and an application to replace your existing title will require your notarized signature. A new title will be issued. Your name will still be stated as the owner with the ?TOD? designation also stated. The fee for this replacement title is $17.00 The ?TOD? beneficiary can be an individual, more than one individual, a corporation, an organization or other legal entity. A ?TRUST? is a legal entity. The beneficiary does not need to reside in Ohio. You are still stated as the sole owner on this replacement title, therefore, you do not need to purchase new plates and registration. When you purchase a vehicle you can have a beneficiary stated on the title at that time, also. The beneficiary can be changed, at any time, by repeating the above process.

Upon your death, the beneficiary will present your title, your death certificate, their driver?s license, and the current mileage to be issued a title in their name. The fee is $17.00.
 
22. I would like to title my vehicle in the name of my ?TRUST? or transfer my existing ?TRUST? title to someone else. How do I do that?
Only the trustee can sign an application when applying for a?TRUST? title or sign as the seller on behalf of the trust. In both situations the trustee must have a copy of the trust when signing the application or assignment and their driver?s license to get their signature notarized. The trustee can appoint a power of attorney to sign on their behalf. The notarized power of attorney form, current mileage and necessary fee are also required. A vehicle titled in the name of a ?TRUST? does not have to be transferred when the person whose name the ?TRUST? is in passes away. A ?TRUST? is considered a legal entity.
 
23. I have an off road motorcycle titled in Ohio. I have now brought it up to code for road use and need to change the title. How do I do that ?
You would take the Ohio off-road title in your name, proof of the upgrade and proceed to your county title office and request to complete a "body code change" affidavit and an application to replace your existing off road title.. If all is in order the title will be replaced and reflect the body code as "MC" motorcycle. You would pay a fee of $17.00 and take the new title to the Deputy Registrar and apply for your motorcycle plates. Of course, you must have the motorcycle endorsement on your Ohio Operators License in order to drive the vehicle.
 
 
Auto Title Links
 
Location:
Cincinnati Office
1001 Main Street
Cincinnati, OH 45202
Directions to Auto Title Locations
 
Regular Business Hours:
8AM - 4PM
Monday - Friday
 
Contact Us:
(513) 946-4646